News from Norway

7th Trondheim International Chamber Music Competition announces the 2013 competitors!

on .

On September 23 ten of the world's finest emerging string quartets will arrive and take the stage for the 7th Trondheim International Chamber Music Competition. The preliminary jury have now selected an international selection of accomplished musicians of the highest standard. The quartets are:

  • Auric Quartet (Australia)
  • Quartet Berlin-Tokyo (Japan/ Israel)
  • Dudok Kwartet (Netherland)
  • Girard Quartet (France)
  • Idomeneo String Quartet (UK/ Norway)
  • Jubilee Quartet (UK)
  • Novus Quartet (Korea)
  • Van Kuijk Quartet (France)
  • Quatuor Varèse (France)
  • Yul String Quartet (Korea)

The ten quartets were chosen by a preliminary jury, including Levon Chilingirian, leader of the  Chilingirian String Quartet. The selection was made based on audio recordings sent in from all over the world! Applicants from over 30 countries applied to be considered for the first round, and the overall number of applicants have been record high.

These ten quartets have an exeptional high level of musical understanding and wonderful perfoming and the competition in September 2013 will be very exiting,” says competition director Marianne Baudouin Lie.

During the competition, 24 – 28 September, these ten quartets will be competing in three rounds with a large repertoire including classical, Romantic, and 20th century music, as well as including a commissioned work by the norwegian composer Trygve Brøske. Three quartets are chosen on September 26 to perform in the final round on Saturday, September 28, in the wonderful accoustic of the Freemasons Hall in Trondheim.

The TICC Awards, more than 30 000€ in cash and prizes, are made possible through generous funding from a.o. Torstein Erbos Fund and the city council of Trondheim. Prizes also includes concert engagements in the followig year of the competition, and Master classes at Weikersheim Schloss provided by the generosity of Jeunesse Musicales. All the competing quartets will also be presented with a litography by the internationally renovned norwegian artist Inger Sitter. 

The 7th TICC competition jury is made up of seven of the world’s top musicians, mentors, and teachers. They include the jury chairman Levon Chilingirian, leader of the Chilingirian Quartet, Leoš Čepický, violin and Aleš Kaspřík, cello from the Wihan Quartet, Marianne Thorsen, violinist of the Nash Ensemble, Thomas Ribl, viola professor at Mozarteum, Håvard Gimse, renovned norwegian pianist and Louise Hopkins, cellist and Head of strings at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama.

About Trondheim International Chamber Music Competition/ TICC

The Trondheim Chamber Music Festival has, since its inception in 1996, had young musicians as its main profile. In 2000, the festival took a step further in inspiring young musicians to perform chamber music on a high level by arranging the 1st Trondheim International Chamber Music Competition (TICC).  Since its inauguration, TICC has earned an international reputation which is reflected in the growing number of international applicants each year.

Trondheim International Chamber Music Competition is arranged every second year, alternately for string quartets and piano trios. In the years between competitions there is Academy for the same kind of ensembles as in next year’s competition. This “springboard model” spans a three year period and is built up with the following progression:

  • 1st year:  Trondheim International Chamber Music Academy – TICA
  • 2nd year: Trondheim International Chamber Music Competition – TICC
  • 3rd year:  Concert engagements as part of the competition prizes

The Competition & Academy focus especially on advanced student quartets and young professional quartets, and are open for chamber ensembles from all over the world.

The Competition and Academy is always arranged during Trondheim Chamber Music Festival. The competitors have free entry to the festival’s concerts. Read more about Trondheim Chamber Music Festival on

Recognized by the World Federation of International Music Competitions, it is among the top events of its kind. Past winners have included the Sacconi Quartet, Trio con Brio, Quatuor Tercea and the Danish String Quartet.